The Democratic Alliance (DA) in Ekurhuleni retained two of the three wards that were under grabs during Wednesday’s elections.

Lornette Joseph is the new councillor for ward 27 with 74.26% of the votes cast.

It was a dip to the votes former DA councillor Jacques Meiring garned during the 2016 local government elections.

Meiring won 91.89% of the votes.

Voter turnout in the ward was a low 22.17%.

Another DA councillor Mary Goby secured 78.72% of the votes in ward 28, while the African National Congress (ANC) retained ward 42.

The ANC was nonetheless the biggest winner of the by-elections nationally, retaining 12 wards and winning five new ones.

It lost only one ward, while the DA retained 6 wards and lost two. It didn’t win any new ward.

Limpopo’s Better Resident Association was the biggest loser, losing three wards it had won in 2016.

The party, formerly known as the Bushbuckridge Residents Association, was formed in 2011 by disgruntled ANC members.

Voter turnout in Wednesday’s elections, which took place in 17 municipalities countrywide, was 34.56%.

According to the Independent Electoral Commission, the highest turnout was 62.93% in ward 3 in Ward 3 in !Kheis Municipality, in the Northern Cape.

Ward 15 in the City of Cape Town had the lowest number of voters turning up to make their mark.

Fourteen political parties and 18 independent candidates took part in the polls.