COGTA chastises rebellious Ntabankulu

Eastern Cape – Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs MEC, Fukile Xasa has decried the rebellious actions of residents of Ntlangano in Ward 1, Ntabankulu where voting did not happen as scheduled.

Xasa visited the area this morning after residents disrupted voting (special) yesterday as well as main voting today.

The residents denied IEC staff access to voting stations in the area by barricading roads with rocks. About 591 people who had registered to vote ended up being unable to cast their ballots.

Residents are demanding the removal of their Ward Councillor, the finishing off of an incomplete road, provision of electricity and the construction of a bridge.

“We have engaged the Ntlangano community and responded to all their concerns with realistic timeframes but they decided against allowing the IEC to do its constitutional mandate. It is clear that they do not want to vote regardless of the commitments we made as government. It is once again an unfortunate situation for those people of the area who are eager to vote,” said MEC Xasa.

Ntabankulu is one of the areas listed among the five voting stations that had still not opened by 17h00 today, according to the IEC.

“Despite the best efforts of the security agencies, government representatives and the Electoral Commission, five voting stations had still not opened by 17h00; Eastern Cape – one voting station in Buffalo city and one in Ntabankulu,” said IEC Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Masego Sheburi to journalists this afternoon.

The IEC says it will continue for as long as necessary, to make efforts to resolve the tensions in these volatile areas so that people have an opportunity to exercise their democratic right to vote. – Alfred Nzo FM (Edited by Philile Masango)

Alfred Nzo FM journalist Thato Ramapaito who had difficulty accessing polling stations in parts of Ntabankulu, spoke to Mr. Mkhandanisi Mkhanyisi the Ward 17 Councillor in Gxwaleni location who is unwanted by residents.